Apparel Business Team

Description: This team is responsible for accurately ordering and distributing all apparel which include jumpsuits, patches, t-shirts, sweatshirts, hats and jackets. The students work with various vendors as well as other students, parents, mentors, and sponsors. They also distribute apparel, keep accurate inventory, and are responsible for accounting and money transactions.

Main Events and Activities: Selling apparel at Freshman Orientation, giving apparel to donors, senior jumpsuit season, and sizing all the seniors for senior apparel.

Time Commitment: Usually every other Monday 5-6 pm. Average about 1-2 hours per week.

Mentor: Christie Grant has been the apparel mentor since 2012. Her favorite part about mentoring is “working with the students” and she first joined because she thought it would be a “great way to help students think through a project and see it come to fruition.”

“I just love working with my teammates on the apparel team and seeing how excited people are when we deliver their DPEA clothing” -Nathan Alvarez, senior

“I think it’s really cool that we get to help to make all the jumpsuits for the seniors” – Katie Yang, junior

image03“My favorite part about the team is getting to be part of a team of such a great group of people!” – Alexia Vance, sophomore

“I love that being on the apparel team has allowed me to meet and work with people in the academy that I probably wouldn’t have been able to otherwise” – Lindsay Wilson, senior

image07“I joined Apparel because it was a fun way to get involved in the DPEA” – Katie Yang,
junior

“Sometimes after we iron we get free pizza!” – Kaylie Grant, senior

“I joined at the end of my freshman year because I wanted to find a way to give back to the DPEA” – Alexia Vance, sophomore

“I got involved sophomore year because I heard there was an opening and now I get to work with the best team members and mentor ever!” – Nathan Alvarez, senior

“The apparel team is also a great way to get community service” -Kaylie Grant, senior


-Composed by Communications team member Siena Applebaum

Leave a Reply

